Review: EX1 Cosmetics Invisiwear Liquid Foundation

One word. Gorgeous. This is the kind of foundation I would recommend to all especially those with oily skin type. You will love this. I kept watching Nabila Bee rambling about it in her videos. And when Huda Kattan and Najla Kaddour recommended this, I have to take a double look in this foundation. The foundation caters mostly to Asian/Middle-Eastern ladies. I know the struggle for a brown skin to find a colour match to their skin. Therefore, the founder Farah Naz developed this one-of-a-kind foundation in Italy, Milan for yellow and olive based skin tones. initially, the foundation introduces only 5 shades. After much review and requests, EX1 cosmetics now have a wider range of shades for most skin colour. Click here for the shade match.

Packaging

The packaging comes in a plastic bottle (great for travelling) with a rose gold finish for more luxury feel to it. In terms of price range, it is slightly cheaper than Revlon Colourstay or Loreal True Match. Rumour has it, it is comparable with high-end foundation with in terms of how natural finish it gives.

Shade Range

The shade ranges are now extensive, cater to the lightest to the darkest shade. This is my first time purchasing foundation online, so I had a through research on my shade. How do I find my shade? I use this tool to find my shade using my current foundation shade as a guide. I am currently in the range of MAC – NC42. Also, Barcelona in NARS Sheer Glow foundation. So, I took the gamble and bought in the shade 8.0.

ex1-cosmetics-invisiwear-liquid-foundation-2

Coverage

This is light-weight, medium coverage foundation. It is also a yellow-based tone. A satin-matte finish which is great since matte finish since it will look flat on my face. I like the softbox, candlelit glow finish. This is a buildable foundation for better for coverage. A concealer is still required for the spot conceal duty.

How do I use it?

I moisturise my skin and use an water-based oil-free primer. Then, I used Real Techniques Expert Face Brush for more coverage by buffing it in. Else, I use a beauty blender sponge for less coverage. But normally, I buff it in with the brush and lightly patted it the excess off with the sponge. Afterwards, I proceed with my normal makeup routine and powder the t-zone with matte pressed powder and a setting spray.

EX1 Cosmetics Invisiwear Liquid Foundation 1

Final Thoughts

The shade 8.0 is definitely not my shade but it is my tan summer shade. The horror overreaction when I received it. Nevertheless since I am wearing a hijab, I think I can get away with The Eagle faux pas. Yet, the online ‘good luck-finding-your-shade-gamble’ is a failure. The suitable shade would be 7.0 for me.

Does it look flawless as it claims? It really does look good after my whole makeup sets. Love the satin finish. After a second layer, it covers most of my post acne flaws.

How long does it last? I am a bit conflicted. I tested it during a long humid day. The foundation starts to breakdown after 6 hours on my t-zone area. Hence, I have to blot the area often. In addition, I refuse to repowder (throughout the day) just to see how long can it really last. At the end of the day (10 hours), it does not go so well on me. The foundation starts to separate especially in between my eyebrows which it common for oily t-zone skin types. I was starting to question myself whether is the foundation routine or is it just the foundation that does not last all day? Doubting my sanity level here.

This foundation does not last in a long humid day. I really want this to work due to the fact that I bought this online and it received quite a number for great reviews.  To sums up, it is a good affordable foundation with a nice finish to it. But priming your face prior applying the foundation is important and blot it once in a while will keep it looking fresh throughout the day. I would use this foundation for less practical day or night out where a cool temperate condition applies here. Maybe I should do another round-up? After several trials (I purchased it in November 2016) it would be justifiable for me to love it or hate it. Guess I have to update this soon.

Update (February): After afew trials, I finally learnt on how to make the foundation work for me. I changed my primer to Nivea Post Shave Balm for Men (for sensitive) and use one pump of the foundation to slowly buff it to my skin. Powder on t-zone areas as per normal. I guess the ingredient in the primer content makes a difference. Do I love it after much deliberation? Like it, but not crazy in love with it.

Product mentioned:

  • EX1 Cosmetics Invisiwear Liquid Foundation | 30ml
  • Shade: 8.0
  • Cost: $23 or £12.50
  • Available: Look Fantastic (free worldwide shipping!)

DisclaimerAll items highlighted in this post are personal purchases unless state otherwise.

One thought on “Review: EX1 Cosmetics Invisiwear Liquid Foundation

Leave a Reply

