Review: Clinique take the day off cleansing balm

I purchased this balm sometime last September as part of my double cleansing night-time routine. This seems like unnecessary for others but I feel that my skin is not fully cleanse after washing it once. When I applied toner after cleansing, I can still see traces of the daytime grime or makeup on the cotton pad. So it means, the cleanser is not doing a good job. Click here on Caroline Hirons’ (the skin care goddess) thoughts on double cleansing.

I found that there are not much cleansing balms in the local market. So these are my alternative if you are looking for more options, Emma Hardie Amazing Face Moringa cleansing balm and Banila Co. Clean It Zero cleansing balm (I purchased it at Changi Airport DFS) or the latest Pixi + Caroline Hirons Double Cleanse Solid Cleansing Oil + Cleansing Cream, collaborated with Pixi and the skincare goddess herself.

Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm 1What it does?

An alternative remover for makeup and sunscreen in the market. Free from mineral oil, fragrance, animal by-products, essential oils. This balm is suitable for all skin types (including acne prone). Don’t be afraid to use grease even if you have oily skin. I have combo skin and it works wonderfully on me.

How do I use it?

I scooped (using the free spatula from Sephora) a small amount of the balm. Smooth and massage on to my face. The product immediately melt onto my face. I really took my time in massaging the balm, leaving a greasy film. Next I wet my palms with water, and continue to massage for the final round as it changed to a milky consistency (just like oil-based makeup remover). Finally, I wash if off. It did not leave any oily residue on my face. For the final step, I proceed to washing my face with a gentle cleanser. Pat it dry and continue my normal night routine as usual.

Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm 2Final thoughts

This is my second trial on a cleansing balm. Previously was a sample size of Balance Me Daily Essentials Cleanse & Smooth Face Balm which got me confused because it was thick in consistency. So, this is a second try out. Honestly, I love it. Really, this balm that looks like a solid coconut oil that cleanses my face throughly. It leaves a hydrating feel after I wash. I even stopped using my micellar water for a while now.

Can it remove waterproof mascara or full coverage foundation? Yes, it melts right off. How about the liquid matte lip like Colourpop? It needs a good deep massage to fully remove it.

For the price of the balm, I think it is worth your investment. I love products that uses a small amount but does a wonderful job. It comes in huge amount (more than a regular oil makeup remover) in a purple jar. I reckon it can even last for the entire year. This solid balm is also great for travelling since you can scoop it into a travel jar.

If you are not into massage cleanser type of person, maybe this is not for you. But I don’t see the reason why one would not want to. I mean, this is a selfish time to pamper yourself before going to bed. You only have one face. Have you try a cleansing balm before?

Product mentioned:

  • Product: Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm | 125ml
  • Price: S$52
  • Available: Clinique counters or Sephora stores

DisclaimerAll items highlighted in this post are personal purchases unless state otherwise. 

Leave a Reply

