Getting Hitched: Homeless Matter

e694c1dd77af22ae87f3aadc7bd76646

This is the least favourite topic for both my fiancé and I in wedding planning. While most couples have either owned their Build-To-Order (BTO) flats or in the midst of planning, I can say we are the last few couples that are not. We decided to focus on the wedding preparation and building better relationship, rather than falling into this confuse dilemma (denial state). I guess we call ourselves lucky that we are the last sibling in both of our families to be married. Therefore, we could choose to ‘hitchhike’ from our in-laws whilst finding our dream apartment.

HDB sent me an update on the launch of the new BTO and Sales of Balance flats during the month of May, so casually I read and stored it neatly on my inbox. Ignorance was bliss until my fiancé opened up that we are indeed homeless after the honeymoon and the idea of being independent as a married couple. Panic starts to surged on me. I had a crash research on the application process, attended the resale flat seminar. It looks complicated with all those acronyms but eventually I get the hang of it, since there are check lists for the noobs.

We gambled our luck on the $10 registration fee by applying for Sales Of Balance flat. Fast forward to three months later, the result was unsuccessful. Slightly disappointed. Oh well, we will try again. It is still a blessing in disguise. We can take our time to save up and be well prepared in the future.

For more posts of Getting Hitched, click here.

5 thoughts on “Getting Hitched: Homeless Matter

  1. Salam babe, you are not alone, me too, will be “homeless” after the honeymoon. We will crash in to my fiance’s house and gonna stay there for 2-3 years before we plan to find our dream apartment. The good things is, we can save more for house savings esp for the house renovation. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Aimi 🙂 don’t give up in applying for a flat! I was utterly disappointed when my first application turned unsuccessful in May last year.

    BTO, Sale of Balance Flats or Resale Flats, they are still homes that you’ll want to stay for a long period of time. Hence, it’ll need proper planning and discussion esp when it comes to finance and future planning. So, do not rush on it! 😉 I have to stay with my in-laws until I get a flat too!

    I wish you all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

