Getting Hitched: Guide to daily Grooming

a10f753a3f66507aab0b63304c6b60c4

As a sensitive oily skin sufferer, I have gone through different turmoil of a typical teenager worst enemy, tempermental acne to occasional hormonal acne. I am grateful that my skin is now in a calm state. But it took me years to finally understand my skin issues and how to overcome it. No, I didn’t even go to a fancy schmancy facials.

Now as a bride to be, grooming require discipline and stick to a routine suits the best for my skin. I personally think my faithful holly grails mentioned below contributed most for my almost clear skin. Also I have some emergency stash of money in case my holly grails starts to deplete. *Disclaimer: Apologies if the prices posted may not be as accurate.

Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micellar Water ($40.90) – It thoroughly removes my make up easily without stinging my face. Most of the time, it’s not due to laziness that causes breakout, but it’s because there are still traces of make up left after cleansing. So I call that a myth. I hate it when these individuals (self proclaim professional) assess our face without any proven basis.

Estee Lauder Advance Night Repair serum ($150) – Whenever I faced several occasional hormonal acne or “I just cant be bothered to wash my face!” drama moments, the serum is still faithfully recover my skin from the aftermath of scars. Another good alternative serum/oil is the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrated ($62).

Clarins Lotus Facial Treatment Oil ($65) – This is not necessary but a bonus to own one. Usually oily skin sufferers tend to avoid anything that contains oil, thinking it would produce even more excess sebum. It does not, in fact it regulate your ‘oils’ into not producing even more. Plus, helps to it ‘shrink’ your pores. No, it is not a moisturiser. Initially, the facial oil does not work for my skin (breakout happened). Eventually after 2-3 months, my skin started to adjust with the oil. Now, it works like a dream. I apply every other day with only 2 drops. This bottle is 1.5 year old and it is still going strong (half a bottle left). Another thing is that the scent can be pretty strong, but you’ll get used to it. For me, it just calms my senses before bedtime.

Origins Clear Improvement Active charcoal mask ($50) – This mask is great to clear the gunk from my pores. As part of the clearing process, pimples will form and that is not good news. A good alternative cleansing mask that do not form breakouts, is the Aesop Parsley Seed Cleansing Masque ($51). I am still considering Aesop masque due to the cost factor.

I hope I inspire anyone out there, doesn’t have to be specifically to Brides. Don’t forget to share your skincare tips or products so that we can all benefit from. Below are my cheat sheet for the ‘lazy’ brides out there, inspired by Lily Pebbles.

Routine

3 thoughts on “Getting Hitched: Guide to daily Grooming

  1. Hi! Love this post ! I used to have many many awful pimples that has affected me so much.. But I’ve managed to find my own holy grail of facial products Alhamdulillah. The products that I’m using are from Korean brand Innisfree.. Cheap and good.. Now if only I can figure out a way to clear my body acne….

    Like

    1. Alhamdulilah that slowly our acne have subside when we reach adulthood. Hmm, I will take a look on Korean products soon.

      As for Bacne (body acne), you need body shower gel that contain salicylic acid or Tea Tree Oil. It works. Take 3-4 drops of Tea Tree Oil (BodyShop?) and mix with your shower gel. Or you can try Mario Badescu shower gel

      Like

Leave a Reply

